Texas Defensive Driving Courses
For decades the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure has allowed a Driving Safety Course (commonly known as a Defensive Driving Course) in lieu of a conviction for a moving violation traffic ticket. The law is defined and outlined in the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure (CCP) as Article 45.0511. Basically, a person who has been charged with a moving violation can not only request, but require the courts to allow that person the opportunity to have the charge completely eliminated from existence and can do so one time each 12 month period. In other words, every 12 months, if a another ticket is issued anywhere in the state of Texas, you may take the course and remove or otherwise dismiss each ticket.
A moving violation as an act committed in connection with the operation of a motor vehicle on a public street or highway, which constitutes a hazard to traffic and is prohibited by state law or city ordinance. (A) section 472.022, Transportation code; (B) subtitle C, Title 7, Transportation Code; or (C) Section 729.001 (a) (3), Transportation Code.
Moving violations can be summed up as speeding, running a stop sign, red light, following too closely, failure to maintain a single lane, fail to yield right of way, no turn signal when required to change lanes or turn, fail to control speed, improper start from parked position, backing when unsafe, exhibition of speed or acceleration, or a number of other infractions relating to the obedience of posted street signs and barricades.
A driving safety course (defensive driving) can also be taken to reduce points off your Texas drivers license record and most importantly, to reduce the cost of your insurance premiums on your car. Many insurance companies offer as much as 15% off (the actual average is closer to 10% in Texas) your premiums for 3 years. In fact, Texas and many other states have what is called a mature driver mandatory 15% off your car insurance costs that you are currently paying. The following states, plus the District of Columbia, offer mature driver discounts: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming.
The Mature Driver Course is not any different from an approved driving safety course. It's the same course as the one we have. You may call your insurance company and ask about the discount and sometimes they will offer a discount without even taking the course. Otherwise, sign up and take our easy online fun interactive animated course. It'll certainly pay for itself right away and you'll benefit for three years thereafter.